South Australia's Low Carbon Entrepreneur Prize winners have now been announced! 

Premier Jay Weatherill presented the $100,000 to Enecon - which teamed up with the University of Adelaide - for its project proposal that once built, will replace fossil fuel sources and deliver energy security within the city boundary. This project aims to turn wood waste into fuel that delivers power at the point of consumption. Processing wood waste feedstock into pyrolysis oil at its source, eliminates the challenges of transporting energy. The fuel is then combusted in a high-efficiency trigeneration plant to deliver power at the point of consumption which will eliminate transmission losses. Find out more about the project here.

EcoCaddy was the runner-up and received $50,000 for EcoCart parcel delivery service for city-based businesses which uses real-time tracking and sustainable transport, therefore easing congestion in the CBD.

South Australian proposals by Peats Soil & Garden Supplies and D Squared were both highly commended.

Check out all the finalist projects.

Read the News Release here (PDF 170KB).

Winners of South Australia's Low Carbon Entrepreneur Prize (L-R) Paul Daly (dsquared), John Hogarth (Peats Soils & Garden Supplies), Premier Jay Weatherill, Colin Stucley (Enecon), Josephine (Children's University), Daniels Langeberg, Ryan Kris and Ben Clark (EcoCaddy) Photo: David Mariuz

South Australia's Low Carbon Entrepreneur Prize Finalists Photo: David Mariuz